Tags

, ,

Rhubarb Syrup ResizedI’m always looking for new and interesting ways to use the prolific rhubarb in our garden. I really like the flavor of rhubarb and I admire rhubarb for the way it works so well with other ingredients. I’ve combined it with cranberries, blueberries, apples, raspberries, ginger, pecans and other things to make interesting sauces and desserts. It occurred to me, that if I could capture the essence of rhubarb in a syrup and preserve it, then it would be easy to add to other things, all year round.

I cooked down a kettle full of rhubarb until it was completely soft. I strained the liquid and added some sugar. I cooked it until it was the consistency of maple syrup. Then I batched it up.

I’ve added it to ginger ale, sparkling soda and bergamot tea, all with good results. I’ve asked my son Liam to try it in some cocktail varieties. I’m sure it’s good on ice cream and added to any number of desserts. I plan to add it to a chicken baste soon. Let me know if you have any others creative ideas for using this elixir! Going forward, the only thing I might do differently with the next batch is to substitute honey for the sugar as I use very little sugar overall and somehow honey just seems like a better choice!

